A card a day helps keeps the heartache away

27 Jun

My parents, and home, are about 400 miles away and although it is easy enough to travel back and forth, it does require a flight, a trip through security at the airport and a weekend bag.  My brother is much farther, halfway around the world and 11 hours ahead of me which means by the time I’ve had a bad day, it’s already a new one for him.

My mother regularly sends cards; as a true upstate mother, these cards are often of the “Who loves you? (note: owls on front of card) …I do!  That’s Who!  Who!” variety.  My father is more of a phone guy, and although it took me days to be able to get on the phone with him, I can actually get through a conversation now without crying.  My brother, while traveling through Thailand and from the jungles of Laos, managed to find shaky internet and the guts to Skype me.   (For the record, he promised me a REALLY good present when he gets back to the states this fall and I’m holding him to it.)

As consumed as I am with my own overwhelming emotions, I am thinking tonight about the feelings of those around me.  While their focus these past few weeks has obviously been me, my fiancé didn’t just leave me; he left our friends and the life we shared with them.  All those miles away I am sure my family is experiencing utter disappointment.  Not disappointment in me, but disappointment for the life they thought I was building.  Disappointment that my fiancé wasn’t the man they thought he was or the man who told them he would always take care of me.

No matter how far away they are, it is comforting to know that my family and friends at home send their warmest thoughts my way every day.  I came home a few nights ago to a great card from a friend.  It made me a bit emotional (that may have been aided by the margaritas I had with friends after work…) but thank you to this friend.  I know the quote in this card must be true; I am just waiting for my head and heart to catch up!

“Sometimes it’s so hard to put the past behind us…

We’ll remember something and before we know it, our spirits start to sink again.

But you know what?  The past is old business and that’s over and done with.

But your future is a whole different matter.

You have the right to be happy, and you have the power to start shaping your life into what you want it to be.

You are a strong person and I know what you’re capable of once you make up your mind.

I know that your future is going to be wonderful. You deserve nothing less than living happily ever after.”

(Linda Lee Elrod)

Leave a Reply

