Lessons I learned at the pumpkin patch

18 Oct

I just had one of those much needed weekend breaks from the hectic New York lifestyle.  Since the majority of my friends are in the city themselves, it is a short list of friends and relatives that can provide this needed escape from city living for a quick weekend or overnight getaway.

As my Facebook status informed friends, I was “Off to play for the weekend.  No, literally.  Play.”  Off to play with my godson and his baby sister; and there is always a wine-induced play date as well with their mom, my closest friend from high school, and her husband “after hours” – aka 8:30 pm after the kiddies are settled in bed.

These weekends outside Baltimore always include a trip to our favorite playground, the mile-long path leading to it complicated this time around for Aunt Me with the new double stroller.  It must weigh half my body weight but determined to prove myself a good Aunt, I hauled ass with those kids in tow up and down multiple hills.  My friend and her husband watched – and laughed – from behind.  I was almost out of breath running around with my godson but, give me a break, he’s 3 and I was having a good time!  My friend’s husband may have commented once or twice that my butt barely fit through the playground’s tunnel leading to the slide, but in the end what matters is that it DID fit!  We only coaxed my godson off the play set with the promise of ice cream (Before dinner!  Does he have the coolest parents or what!?)

A first time treat, we also visited a local farm where we picked out pumpkins in the pumpkin patch, played in a teepee, picked apples in the orchard, ate kettle corn and drank lemonade, went on a hayride and watched my godson ride the ponies and play on a retried tractor.  You know, pretty typical of what I would have done if I had stayed in the city…

No matter where I am, part of me is always anxious about where my life is headed.  The pumpkin patch this weekend surprising provided a few insights:

  • I better get back to a regular schedule at the gym.  And stay there.  I am going to be a slightly older mother than I once assumed and running around after a toddler is truly exhausting.  I am going to be completely honest in that my arms are kind of sore today after carrying a sleeping baby around yesterday afternoon.  I better start training now.
  • Friends outside the city will keep you grounded and help you keep your sanity.  On the flipside of that, spending time with them will have you question said sanity for consciously deciding to live in a city like New York.  Coming from the city, you can’t help but wonder if you’re in the right environment when outside it you are chasing the kids around the grass-covered vs paved playground, taking in all the fresh air during a hayride at the local farm, gawking at Costco and BJ treasures (with room to store them!), drooling over the prices at the liquor store (technically a warehouse!!).  Most things just seem downright easier in the suburbs.
  • Even with that point made and said, I love my lifestyle in the city and may very well be content to have one child and stay here permanently.  I don’t want to hold my ex’s interest in Long Island and New Jersey against these suburban, tri-state areas however both options are becoming less and less attractive.  There is something oddly comforting about returning to the chaos of the city.
  • Apples picked fresh from an orchard are always going to taste better.  There is something to be said about produce and other fresh ingredients that do not have to be stored only to travel through a tunnel or over a bridge to find their way to your home.  Yes, I may have smuggled half a bundle of apples home in my overnight bag.  You can always find a piece of the ‘burbs in New York though; specifically at the city’s many farmers markets.  I’ll show you Gristedes with your $4.99/lb orange peppers!
  • Owning a car might truly be my worst nightmare.  I don’t like them.  I don’t like driving.  I like being chauffeured around or, better yet, the freedom of walking to wherever it is I’m headed.  I literally watched my friends in awe – jaw dropped – as they seamlessly sped their three row minivan into parking spots.
  • You are never too old for ice cream.  Even cotton candy flavored ice cream.  And there is something to be said about not feeling too old for life’s sweetest treats.
  • MegaBus is going to receive a very strongly worded message from me tomorrow.  There was no internet access the entire ride back to the city.  This is unacceptable.  Insight here?  I don’t deal with bullshit anymore.
One Response to “Lessons I learned at the pumpkin patch”

  1. Bestest cousin ever November 22, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    Why were you ever putting up with anyone’s bullshit in the first place!? Look at what family you came from sista’! Bullshit we take = NONE!

Leave a Reply

