I think I’m going to have to disagree

20 Nov

Ryan Reynolds is the sexiest man alive?  I don’t know about this.  Don’t get me wrong, he looks undeniably gorgeous in the cover story picture (page 65 in this week’s issue of People) but I don’t know that he’s the first actor that comes to mind when I think “sexiest alive.”  Here is what did not help his case: the blurb on page 70 about what he considers “Canadian Sexy.”  Seriously with these answers?  (1) “We can ice-skate on anything.  Even wood.”  Fine;  (2) “Our accents are adorable.”  Not even close to true;  (3) “There’s an inherent ability to be self-depreciating.”  Not sexy;  (4) “We can apologize virtually on demand.  For anything.”  Definitely not sexy.

Flipping through the pages of the special November 29th double issue, here is who would get my vote: Bradley Cooper, Jake Gyllenhaal, Jon Hamm, Joe Manganiello, Hugh Jackman (fair enough, he won the cover in 2008).  I am fairly disturbed that Tom Brady’s lady locks made the issue but not my favorite QB face, Aaron Rodgers (I’ve been obsessed since he was picked 24th overall in the 2005 NFL draft).  Now other than JFK Jr. in 1988, the Sexiest Man has always been a box office hero.  Why not nominate one of television’s sexiest?  Michael C. Hall, Christopher Meloni, David Duchovany (the “Californication” years; no one likes a sci-fi geek), Josh Halloway, Ryan Kwanten, Anderson Cooper?  And how on earth is it possible that my favorite vampire, Alexander Skarsgard, didn’t make this list?  FAIL.

Based solely on the Sexy at Every Age two-page spread, I may have a new target demographic.  Hello Rob Marciano.  No, this target is not too old for me (although my parents may disagree…)  But who wants to play games with boys anymore?!

One Response to “I think I’m going to have to disagree”

  1. unweddedblissblog November 24, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    Classic follow-up! The 50 Unsexieset Men Alive 2010!

    http://www.buzzfeed.com/mjs538/the-50-unsexiest-men-alive-2010

Leave a Reply

