Hello, my name is…

21 Jan

So I met this guy.  Not like that.  Relax.

I happened to be out for drinks with colleagues after work and he was doing the same.  From what I remember, the conversation between my group and his group actually started as an argument of some sort.  Over what, I have no idea.  The two groups slowly dwindled down until we were two-on-two.  Then the drinks turned to shots.  Then I gave him my number.  My real number.  I should have known then that it was time to go home.  Alone.

When he sent me a text the next day, all I could think was “What the hell is this kid’s name?”  For weeks we would shoot the random text, and it was all fine until we talked about actually getting together for a drink.  And again, all I could think was “I’m going to have to tell this guy that I have no idea what his name is.”  At this point, he was in the contacts list of my cell as “Perfect Pint”…the name of the bar we met at.  Keeping it classy.  I know.

Here is some of the Nancy Drew-inspired advice I got from friends:

  • Talk about yourself in the third person and see if he does the same
  • Get invited back to his apartment and snoop through his mail when he’s not looking
  • Tell him to friend request you on Facebook (this should be accompanied by an excuse like “check out my pictures from football season”)
  • Have a friend “randomly” show up at the same bar and have her introduce herself- he’ll have to do the same
  • Get drunk and admit that you don’t know his name
  • And my favorite: “Who needs names?”

About a week ago as I was simultaneously pondering my options for no-name guy and refilling my business card holder, the answer fell in my lap.  Literally. Embossed in thick black and silver type font, there it was.  “Perfect Pint’s” name on the business card.  Now where did that come from…?

He’s still in my phone as “Perfect Pint” of course.

7 Responses to “Hello, my name is…”

  1. Jeanie January 24, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Baby Doll,
    Don’t you dare go to his apartment for ANY reason. Try the truth – that you don’t remember his name. Soon enough the entire matter will hopefully be a non-issue!!

    Me.

  2. Nina February 4, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    I love this post. Love.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. These kids with their damn technology « Unwedded Bliss - March 29, 2011

    […] me a few minutes to recognize the name.  It was (wait for it…) Perfect Pint!  Oh, you know Perfect Pint.  You’ll remember that it took me weeks to figure out this guy’s name.  And even […]

  2. Happy Anniversary, Me! « Unwedded Bliss - July 7, 2011

    […] to not write about!  You know- like THIS, THIS, THIS, THIS, or […]

  3. Happy Unmarried and Single Americans Week! « Unwedded Bliss - September 29, 2011

    […] gasp – Queens; the Chicago half marathon; splurging on myself; standing up for myself; meeting new people; meeting serial killers; volunteering; boozing up and visiting Babeland; vacationing with […]

  4. Twilight zone « Unwedded Bliss - April 13, 2012

    […] Ran out to get a salad just now with two colleagues and ran into Perfect Pint.  He winked, smiled and looked […]

Leave a Reply

