Oscar vs. your husband

2 Feb

I’ve mentioned before that the only thing my ex and I regularly argued about was my job.  He thought I worked too much and put in too much of an effort.  I disagreed.

How often do you hear about women struggling to balance their career and personal life?  Why does a promotion or leap in professional status tend to harm a woman’s personal relationship more than a man’s?  While I don’t have the statistics at hand, I do find it interesting that in my own five-year relationship, this was the only issue of significance that habitually plagued the relationship.  Well up until the broken engagement at least; then there was plenty to dispute…but that’s beside the point!

Maybe as possible blog material, or maybe because I’ve become intrigued with Natalie Portman’s role in Black Swan, one of my girlfriends just sent me an article about how scientists have confirmed the Oscar Curse.  Sixty percent of women nominated for Best Actress, a huge professional milestone in the career of an actress, have divorced.  Even crazier, winners are 1.68 times more likely to divorce and there’s a 63% chance that their marriage will be shorter than those who utter “It was an honor just to be nominated.”

Take it from girlfriend: “Natalie better not go running (or dancing!) down the aisle too quickly with that choreographer fiancé.”

7 Responses to “Oscar vs. your husband”

  1. becky February 3, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    why aren’t you a feminist?
    or did i miss the tongue-in-cheek-ness that i previously understood in your writing?

    • unweddedblissblog February 3, 2011 at 3:21 am #

      Great call Becky! I definitely support gender equality and believe in the same social, political and economical rights for all regardless of gender (or race, sexuality etc for that matter!) In being cautious to never sound jaded or as though I’m on the verge of launching an anti-men campaign, I used the word “feminist” in the wrong context here. And I’m going to change this particular part of the post now. Thanks for reading!

      • becky February 3, 2011 at 3:24 am #

        YAY.
        didn’t mean to be a riled, old angsty feminist.
        but really.
        if one believes in equal rights among the genders (as well as among other socio-economic-political/imposed discrepancies), one is a feminist. THE END.
        /tosses soap box.

        (just ask alex how many times i have screeched this at her in a bar. or her couch. or my couch.)

      • becky February 3, 2011 at 3:25 am #

        oh and, please keep writing.
        so much.

        you are on my google reader (the one category i actually bother keeping up with and not escaping past 1000+) and i admire you so much.

        ::clink::

  2. unweddedblissblog February 3, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    Love, love, love that you caught this and more importantly, pointed it out! Not riled, old angsty…just rightfully vocal!

  3. Wedding Rings February 26, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    I truly like your blog, the way you write and subject you covered are simply amazing. I understand how difficult it can be to get the website visitors interested. I have made a decision to add your blog to my blog list.

Leave a Reply

