Happy Valentine’s Day!

14 Feb

We all know that Valentine’s Day is a double-edged sword: if you go too far with it you’re the cheesy sap who falls for the so-called “hallmark holiday”; if you hate on it too much, you’re the jaded singleton without a date.  Well, either that or there must be something dysfunctional about your relationship if you don’t want to celebrate the perceived most romantic day of the year.

Unsure whether to post or not today (will I sound bitter, fake, aloof…?), I hit up a few blogs to see what others were saying about the holiday.  One post describes the various V-day player stereotypes to a T: “millions of unoriginal people” who will have “boring, conventional sex”; “hip couples” who do “smug ‘anti-Valentine’s Day’ things”; and singletons who will “get drunk” while everyone around them “assumes a false mien of cheerfulness about being single.”  Another article took it a step farther and made a valid point: the only thing worse than the high demand chocolates and roses of February 14th are “the people who empower it with emphatic hatred.”

So here is where I find myself: in the latter of the three categories yet cautious to not ooze emphatic hatred.  (Remember: no need to fake anything for me; I really am at a point where being single is the right stage for me.  For now.  And yes, even on Valentine’s Day!)

So is it possible to “win” on Valentine’s Day?  Three of us decided to try…by participating in the holiday but simultaneously making fun of our very own and very stereotypical “lonely hearts club”.  We had a fabulous menu planned: fire and ice shrimp, cucumbers with spicy dill cream cheese, spinach and prosciutto lasagnaromantic brownie sundaes (pics below!) and a signature cocktail: sparkling passion-fruit aperitifs (okay technically I couldn’t find passion fruit juice so we went with bellinis but I’ve never met a champagne cocktail I don’t like…)  We had joked about watching “When Harry Met Sally” or some equally cliché movie but in the end How I Met Your Mother and Law & Order won out.

Toward the end of the evening, as my two friends and I watched television and complained about / relished in how full we were, a very true and very telling question escaped my lips: “Is it normal that this is the biggest effort I’ve ever put into Valentine’s Day…?”  But then again, it’s just another day, right?  With friends.

3 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day!”

  1. Jeanie February 16, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    My Darling Baby Doll,
    Guess we know who is cooking this Easter!!!
    Me.

    • unweddedblissblog February 16, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

      I’m retired; unlike Brett Favre I want to go out on top of my game.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A February 14th post « Unwedded Bliss - February 17, 2012

    […] Last year I was worried about the perceived cliché that a February 14th post could give.  But I gave in and had friends over for a V-day dinner anyway.  Besides, I was a cliché last year; I didn’t have much to lose. […]

Leave a Reply

