Who invited the serial killer?

17 Apr

Leaving Syracuse last week, I ended up stuck on one of those dinky commuter planes for over three hours due to lightening above the runway at JFK.  After the first 90 minutes, many of us became antsy and broke the cardinal rule of New York interaction.  And by that I mean we actually interacted.  It started as complaints, communal rolling of the eyes, the exchange of newspapers and magazines.  Eventually I started talking to this guy who seemed cool enough.  When he asked for my number another hour later, I thought “Why the hell not?”

He text me later that night to make sure I had survived the mob scene for a cab leaving the airport.  We started chatting via bbm a day or two later.  Then we started following each other on Twitter…I mean, that’s what the kids do, right?  (Or is that what the serial killers do…?)

Between our many modes of communication, we talked about grabbing a drink but my schedule was insane.  That and I have an intense fear of actually going on a date (I left that part out).  We hadn’t nailed down a date going into the weekend but out with friends Saturday night I received a bbm that he was out too.  He wanted to know if I was interested in that drink.  Sure, why not?  I already had his life story from our furiously flown texts and bbms – what’s one drink?  Besides, I was with friends in a place where I knew two people behind the bar.  It’s practically what they mean when they say ‘a crowded place in broad daylight’.

So there I was, sitting at the bar with a friend when a guy walked up to me and said “Hey.  Kate, right?”  Uh, I’m 100% serious when I say “Who invited the serial killer?”

He was tall, very thin – in a creepy way, got way to close to me when he talked and oh, he was definitely wearing serial killer glasses (you know, like my brother’s).  He didn’t order a drink, he didn’t understand sarcasm (aka my second language) and he kept repeating how pretty I “actually am” (while reaching out to simultaneously touch me).  Two thing: (1) ew; and (2) so you thought I was ugly on the plane…?  After about an hour of conversation (I technically can talk to a wall for hours so I managed flawlessly with this creeper), he took off and I breathed a much needed sigh of relief.

I woke up this morning to a pinging cell – creeper was bbm’ing me.  To tell me how rude I am and how I don’t take anything serious.  What can I say?  Nothing seemed all that serious to me last night between the hours of 12 and 1 am.  Digging through my bag an hour later I found a piece of paper crinkled up with an UES address on it.  Wait, so am I “rude” because he’s not smart enough to understand sarcasm or because I didn’t slut it on over to his place last night…?

Don’t worry, I resisted the urge to accept his offer for a second drink tonight.  Psyyycho.  I am never dating.  Like, ever.

What are those famous last words?….”But he seemed so normal!”

5 Responses to “Who invited the serial killer?”

  1. Mandy April 21, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I think you’ve watched enough L&O SVUs to know how this episode turns out…!

    • unweddedblissblog April 23, 2011 at 3:49 am #

      It’s always worth the risk if Elliot Stabler and Olivia Benson will be on the case…!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why weekends aren’t for working « Unwedded Bliss - April 21, 2011

    […] Have a drink with a serial killer. […]

  2. Happy Easter. My way. « Unwedded Bliss - April 25, 2011

    […] delivered to my apartment last weekend at 6:30 am post-a 4 am night out with friends and the serial killer.  I like that there’s always something to do, somewhere to go, someone to go out with, some […]

  3. Happy Unmarried and Single Americans Week! « Unwedded Bliss - September 29, 2011

    […] Queens; the Chicago half marathon; splurging on myself; standing up for myself; meeting new people; meeting serial killers; volunteering; boozing up and visiting Babeland; vacationing with friends (during a hurricane); […]

Leave a Reply

