I haven’t done this in a year

20 May

No, not laundry; don’t get too crazy.  But I did go grocery shopping this past Sunday (with a list!) after finding a few recipes I wanted to try this week, and then I (gasp!) cooked dinner for myself three times this week.  I don’t want to brag, but I also ate at my breakfast nook instead of in my bedroom.  I mean, when a girl expands her horizons, she should go all out.

I obviously portioned these recipes to serve one but here’s a quick look.  Bon Appetit!

Monday: Tilapia with caper-parsley sauce

Season 4 6-oz tilapia fillets with salt and pepper.  In batches cook in butter (I used olive oil) in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until cooked through, 2-3 minutes per side.  In a saucepan, boil 1 cup white wine until reduced by half, 2-3 minutes.  Whisk in 3 tablespoons cold butter (I used a butter substitute, hence the scary yellow-colored sauce!), 2 tablespoons capers and 1/4 cup chopped parsley.  Serve with roasted potatoes tossed in olive oil, salt and pepper.

Wednesday: Asparagus and ricotta pizzas

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Shape 1 pound pizza dough (at room temperature) into 4 rounds and place on 2 cornmeal-dusted baking sheets.  Toss 1 pound asparagus (halved crosswise and lengthwise), 5 ounces thinly sliced cremini or button mushrooms and 2 cloves of thinly sliced garlic.  Divide tossed mixture and 1 and 1/2 cups part-skim ricotta evenly amongst pizzas.  Sprinkle evenly with 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese and 2 tablespoons olive oil.  Season with salt and pepper.  Bake 25-30 minutes.  Meanwhile, toss 2 cups baby arugula with 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice, 1 tablespoon olive oil, salt and pepper.  Top the pizzas with arugula just before serving.

Friday: Fish tacos with cucumber relish

Season 4 6-oz tilapia fillets with salt, pepper and 1 teaspoon ground corriander.  Grill on an (olive) oiled grilling grate over high heat until cooked through, 1-2 minutes per side; break into pieces.  Toss together 1 sliced cucumber, 6 sliced radishes, 2 tablespoon olive oil.  Serve in 8 warm corn tortillas with the fish, cilantro and sour cream (I used fat free sour cream).

2 Responses to “I haven’t done this in a year”

  1. Me May 24, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Baby Doll,
    Excellent job! As for me, no thank you!
    Me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 11 highlights in 2011 « Unwedded Bliss - January 5, 2012

    […] Turning on the Stove.  It Still Works! […]

Leave a Reply

