Should I stay or should I go?

18 Jun

I’ve recently made a big decision…I’ve resigned the lease for my apartment on 39th Street!  If you’re one of the crew in NYC, you’ve heard me go on and on (and on) about this for weeks – thanks ladies for letting me talk and talk (and talk) it out with you!

For being, by far, the longest year of my life, the past year has somehow simultaneously flown by.  I found myself a few weeks ago having to make a decision about where to live – just me, a decision solely my own – for the first time since moving to my Upper West Side apartment in 2005.  My ex and I obviously shared in the decision after moving in together in 2007  and we stayed put on the UES for almost three years (that’s where couples go to “die”, remember?)  And finding my current place last summer really doesn’t count; I went through the entire process in a complete haze and signed the lease for just three reasons: (1) it was within a five block proximity of my best friend; (2) my bedroom could fit (just barely) my bed and my ex’s TV (wink, wink); and (3) in the ten minutes I spent with her, my potential new roommate did not appear to have any homicidal tendencies.

The pros for staying put are overwhelming – I’m: midtown; 11 blocks from my office; already settled; able to avoid the expense of moving; eliminating the headache of the never easy NYC apartment search.  I get along with my roommate; am in a doorman building; and haven’t had to take the subway more than a dozen times in the past year.  I’m five blocks away from one of my closest friends.  The rent did not go up.  Um, why was I even considering this again…?

And as for the so-called “cons”: I am not, as I once thought, too old to have a roommate.  Given NYC rent, I don’t know that you’re ever too old for a roommate.  Particularly when staying midtown without sacrificing your lifestyle is your number one priority.  Space is limited, yes, but it’s just me.  I’m comfortable and if I haven’t missed the possessions in any of the two dozen boxes at my mom’s place in Buffalo, I probably don’t really need these things to fit in my new place.  I clearly haven’t missed them.

Resigned-my-lease cocktails anyone?!!

6 Responses to “Should I stay or should I go?”

  1. Mandy July 7, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    “Adult” means something different to everyone, remember? Love ya!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Editor’s note « Unwedded Bliss - July 19, 2011

    […]  Regardless, I apparently forgot to list “proximity to the UN” on my list of pros for staying put in midtown.  Thanks for the call tonight to point this out […]

  2. Who needs a man? Part 2 « Unwedded Bliss - August 2, 2011

    […] it rebuilt to comply with new building regulations, or (2) move.  After a bit of deliberation, I decided against moving.  So I got to work.  I secured a recommendation for contractors from my building manager (no […]

  3. 11 highlights in 2011 « Unwedded Bliss - January 5, 2012

    […] Staying Put. […]

  4. All systems go « Unwedded Bliss - June 8, 2012

    […] for another year.  If you were reading last year you know that I pro-and-con-listed my way through whether or not to stay with my roommate at our place on 39th Street.  It was probably pretty excruciating for my friends […]

Leave a Reply

