Wooowza!

26 Jul

As I sat in the spa waiting for my first Brazilian bikini wax, there was only one thought going through my head: “Why on earth did I ever think this would be a good idea?”  (Okay, that and “Why didn’t I stop somewhere to do a shot?  Or six?”)  As I waited, I rapidly sent texts to a few girlfriends, hoping one of them would tell me to get the hell out of there.  No such luck.

I was barely done introducing myself to Avenika before Avenika was introducing herself to my lady bits.  Never venturing beyond the typical bikini wax, I’ve been wanting to do this for a while but the whole “front, back and everything in between” scared me off every time I started to work up enough nerve.  I think we can all agree: rightfully so.  A few things finally  made me go for it: I asked an (obviously close) colleague for a referral (Shobha Madison – fabulous) and told half a dozen girlfriends that I had the appointment so I wouldn’t back out of it.  I also figured that not many things I’ve encountered in the past 14 months have been quite as painful as my broken engagement so I could probably survive a Brazilian.

Just like a silk nightie that you wear to bed by yourself or a winter pedicure that no one will see, sometimes you need to do something that boosts your confidence and makes you feel sexy.  Simply for you.

One Response to “Wooowza!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Little “luxuries”…plural « Unwedded Bliss - January 25, 2012

    […] She responded, “Wait a minute!  Last week it was your mani/pedis, massages and Brazilian waxes!” […]

Leave a Reply

