A 14-month standoff

31 Jul

Well, it’s official.  My 14-month standoff is over.  You know, the one against laundry.

In case you’re wondering what the hell I’m talking about, bottom line refresher- I haven’t done laundry since May 2010.  Now pick up your jaw off the floor while I explain…

It started innocently enough.  I couldn’t be bothered to do much last summer, let alone laundry.  When my mother came to visit, she did it for me (yes, I was 29-years-old but I was also heartbroken).  In July I moved into an apartment building with drop-off laundry in the lobby.  I mean, that’s like double dog daring me not to do laundry.  Sure, it is double the cost of doing it myself but  can you really put a price tag on dropping off dirty clothes in the morning only to have them washed, folded and ready for pick up (to reiterate, in your apartment building lobby) by the time your work day ends?  No, you cannot.

A few times I took a suitcase of dirty clothes to Buffalo with me and magically came back with them freshly laundered.  To be fair to myself, I think I may have changed one or two of those loads.  So technically I’m not the laundry deadbeat that you’re mistaking me for.  Well, fast forward to yesterday when I realized my laundry-free streak needed to come to an end.  I had a closet full of clothing that couldn’t simply be dropped off for regular laundry services but that if dry cleaned would cost me hundreds of dollars.  So I had no choice: months and months of laundry was about to take over my Saturday morning.  While I was at it, I figured I might as well punish myself and wash a few loads of towels, bedding and other basics.

I know what you’re thinking: “See?  Doing laundry didn’t kill you!”  Well, you’re practically wrong – doing laundry is exactly as terrible as I remember it.  Maybe worse now that I live on the 24th floor and had to schlep it down to the basement laundry room; and of course only one elevator actually goes to the basement.  Granted, no one should ever have to do nine loads of laundry in one morning.  Lesson learned: don’t ever let laundry go this long again.  Meaning, drop it off at the dry cleaner regularly and more strategically 🙂

2 Responses to “A 14-month standoff”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. She doesn’t do laundry either « Unwedded Bliss - December 15, 2011

    […] I did laundry this past July for the first time in 14 months.  It was so incredibly unpleasant that I’ve only done it one other time since (I am taking an ungodly amount of dirty laundry to Buffalo with me next week when I head home for Christmas).  In that interest, and a second obvious interest, this video made me smile this morning for two reasons: first, this girl clearly knows that doing your laundry is lame and that’s what same day service is for; and second, she went through “a bum of a breakup” and decided to dance like no one was watching.  Good for her!  When my ex left I moped around like no one was watching…this response seems healthier for some reason. […]

  2. Houston, we have a problem « Unwedded Bliss - June 12, 2012

    […] this is what happens when you haven’t done your own laundry since July 2011.  (Apparently traveling home with dirty laundry in your suitcase when you visit mom doesn’t […]

Leave a Reply

