What I am grateful for this year 2.0

24 Nov

Thanksgiving this year is very different than last because I’m different.  No longer focused on being thankful for “just getting through” or describing my friends and family as those who supported that survival, I can truly embrace that for which I am thankful for this year!

  • They’re the token ones to be thankful for at Thanksgiving but of course my family and friends!  The affectionate memories, funny moments, trips home, nights out and nights in, playful teasing and inside jokes, shared cocktails, dinners together and words of encouragement can all be summed up with this quote: “Friendship isn’t a big thing – it’s a million little things.”
  • My second annual Thanksgiving dinner with my best friend and her parents at Blue Water Grill.  Or, as I like to call it: pumpkin ravioli wonderment 2.0.  I’ve pretty much been looking forward to this for the last 364 days.  Followed by a glass of wine back at my girlfriend’s place and another watching A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving when I got home, I’d call this year’s Thanksgiving a success.
  • Contently sleeping in the middle of my bed, no longer lonely that someone isn’t on the other side.  In that interest, putting last year behind me and embracing new opportunities not as distractions or strategies to “get through” but instead as novel experiences of my choosing and refreshing movements forward.
  • Blog love from both friends and strangers!  I received an email a few days ago from a reader in Australia full of words of encouragement and optimism.  Her P.S.S had me on the ground: “Fuck that fucking fucker of an ex fiancé. If you ever see him again tell him some random chick in Australia thinks he’s a douchebag.”

I am particularly grateful that I don’t have to make more of the holiday than I want it to hold.  So, I can also be grateful for the following superficially fun things in my life:

  • Just when I convinced myself that I could not possibly watch anymore TV, a colleague convinced me to Netflix Pretty Little Liars.  Oh. My. God.  And yes, it is about four 16-year-old girls and the mysterious “A” who threatens to expose their secrets, many of which they thought only their now dead friend Ali knew about.  I’m obsessed.  (By the way, is anyone else freaked out by the fact that Holly Marie Combs and Chad Lowe are old enough to play the parents of teenagers…?)

 (How creepy is this song??)

  • Spa package #3 at Euphoria Nails on 48th and 2nd.  I have officially left my $20 mani/pedi behind; first, because I live midtown and they’re harder to find, and second, because I have fallen in love with the spa pedicure, manicure and 10 minute massage package at Euphoria.  Oh course, I probably just jinxed it and will chip my fresh Thanksgiving mani/pedi before going to sleep tonight!

(Essie’s “sweet talker” color)

  • With the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade on in the background this morning, this Justin Bieber commercial came on.  Just to clarify, I am not a fan of the “Biebs” or his music; his hair and clothes are irrelevant to me and my life; I don’t care about his baby mama, or lack thereof, drama.  I do however find this commercial hilarious – strictly for the actors playing the driver, stock guys and salesman – obviously.

 

 (For the record, I’m not a Black Friday shopper)

I am grateful for opportunities to volunteer and give back throughout the year and plan to focus on the following initiatives between Thanksgiving and Christmas:

Serving a (pre-) Thanksgiving dinner at a local soup kitchen: As I was assigned the role of stuffing scooper, I couldn’t help but think about the How I Met Your Mother season 1 Thanksgiving episode.  The following ensued when Ted and Robin volunteered on Thanksgiving Day at Barney’s soup kitchen:

Ted: “Hey Barne, what do you say you let us sub in for your scoop-stuffing for a little bit?”

Barney: “Ha-haa you want to scoop stuffing on your first day out??  ‘Hello NFL, can I be quarter-back this Sunday?’ Dude…”

Participating in a holiday party at New Alternative for ChildrenNew Alternatives for Children provides innovative, high quality services in support of birth, foster, and adoptive families who are caring for children with special medical needs at home.  As volunteers we’ll be helping to run the day’s activities, interacting with the children and their families and helping with meal service.  This is a new population that I’ll be working with but definitely looking forward to the opportunity.

And finally through my office, ‘Tis the Season to Give Back!  I’m thrilled to be helping to coordinate the following holiday drives.  (To my NYC friends: if you’re interested in participating, just let me know!  I’m more than happy to help connect you with our drives!)

  • Gift drive for Covenant HouseCovenant House meets the basic needs of homeless youth in North and Central America by immediately providing them with nourishing meals, clean clothes, medical attention and a safe place to stay away from the dangers of the street.  Donated gifts will go to homeless children, boys and girls, ages 12-18 that stay at Covenant House.
  • Toy drive for Toys for Tots: The Toys for Tots Foundation helps less fortunate children throughout the United States experience the joy of the holidays; the primary goal of the annual toy drive is to deliver, through a new toy at the holidays, a message of hope to children that will assist them into becoming responsible, productive, patriotic citizens.   Donated toys will go to boys and girls of all ages in need in the New York City area.
  • Coat drive with New York Cares: New York Cares is the city’s largest volunteer organization, running volunteer programs for 1,200 nonprofits, city agencies and public schools.  To meet the growing demand for winter coats and help the 18.7% of NYC families living in poverty, New York Cares runs a city-wide coat drive every December.  Their 2011 goal is to collect 100,000 gently worn coats this season.

Finally, like one of my favorites, Anderson Cooper (@andersoncooper), I am grateful for the era of videos going viral on YouTube.  This one felt appropriate to share today:

And I would be remiss not to ask if you saw Jason Witten take down one of the Dallas cheerleaders on the sidelines during today’s game!!

Happy Thanksgiving!!

5 Responses to “What I am grateful for this year 2.0”

  1. Vix November 27, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Yay! Comment love!
    I wish we had Thanksgiving in Aus. Although having a Turkey in this weather would be ridiculous. It’s way too hot. I LOVE Pretty Little Liars, although I get freaked out at how huge Aria’s eyes are. Weirdly big right?

    I cannot wait for The Hunger Games movie to come out. Mmmm Liam Hemsworth. Wait, how old is he? Am I allowed to say that?

    • unweddedblissblog November 29, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

      The biggest of hoorays!! I’m usually busy hiding from Jenna anytime she comes on the screen (now that must be wrong…) BUT she really creeps me out. I mean, Liam Hemsworth is almost 22….which means it’s more than fine…by almost 4 years!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How I spent Black Friday « Unwedded Bliss - November 26, 2011

    […] Put the final touches on yesterday’s post […]

  2. 31 things I know I know « Unwedded Bliss - March 30, 2012

    […] is always something to be grateful […]

  3. What I am grateful for this year 3.0 « Unwedded Bliss - January 9, 2013

    […] perhaps I was coming into a place that was nothing less than exactly where I was supposed to be.  Last year I was thankful that I wasn’t thankful solely for just getting through my broken engagement. […]

Leave a Reply

