Christmas playlist

22 Dec

Traveling from Manhattan to Scranton to Binghamton to Syracuse to Buffalo less than a week before Christmas, you can only imagine how many Christmas carols I heard driving home earlier this week.  My index finger was numb from changing stations before I hit Bingo-hamton.  My clearly scientific study produced two findings: first, a lot of Christmas carols are just plain terrible; and second, I should have paid the extra $12.95 for XM radio in my rental car.  But before you label me a Grinch, here are the carols I would include on my Christmas morning playlist (note: “Christmas morning” playlist, not “November 1st through Christmas morning” playlist…).

“Christmas Wrapping” – The Waitresses

“All I Want For Christmas Is You” – Mariah Carey

“White Christmas” – Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney and Vera-Ellen (dubbed by Trudy Stevens)

“Christmastime is Here” – A Charlie Brown Christmas

Happy Xmas (War is Over) – John Lennon

Peace on Earth / Little Drummer Boy – Bing Crosby and David Bowie

O Holy Night – Josh Groban

Baby It’s Cold Outside – Zooey Deschanel and Will Farrell

Carol of the Bells – a la Saks 5th Avenue

The Christmas Song – Nat King Cole

Wonderful Christmastime – Paul McCartney

Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) – Darlene Love

Last Christmas – Wham

Island of Misfit Toys – Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer

Leave a Reply

