Sibling Sunday Funday

12 Mar

A week after I first looked back in anger, one of my friends said something that made me realize just how much I cherish the close relationship I have with my brother…

On the day I learned how deep my ex’s deceit ran, I was surrounded by my closest friends, jointly drinking the disbelief away, and waiting for my brother to join us.  My friend’s observation was simple but poignant: when my brother arrived it was immediately clear how much his presence meant to me in that moment; that despite being surrounded by those I love most in the world, it was a hug from my brother that held the potential to make everything just a little bit better.

When my brother decided to take a “mental health day”yesterday  from the ever-present demands of his graduate school work, I was excited to have him all to myself.  Although we spend more time together than most siblings, our schedules have been challenging these past few months so any opportunity to hang out is a welcomed one.  We spent all afternoon talking about our careers and relationships (or my lack thereof…); our childhood and family (many fond, fond memories of our grandfather on my father’s side); and maybe most pressing, our futures.  I’ve been toying with a few options in recent weeks, trying to determine my next big step in life.  And finally, I said them all out loud.

– For the first time in my life, I don’t have a perfectly planned blueprint for the next six months.  And while there is a bit of uncertain anxiety that accompanies this realization, the excitement that surrounds the sheer possibilities far exceeds everything else.

– It’s taken my entire adult life to reach this point but I am finally in a place where happiness can be defined independent of a significant other.  In a certain sense of the word, I am alone.  Wait, not alone.  On my own.

– There are one or two things in life that I’ve only ever had the courage to daydream about.  But now may be the time to contemplate these possibilities without my eyes closed quite so tightly.  And that’s exhilarating.

I know what you’re thinking: my gosh, what an enlightening brunch you had!  Well that brunch may someday be the beginning of a new story – or better yet, a new chapter – to the one that has so far taken me for the ride of my life.  And considering that the lows of this current story line have never exceeded the thrill of the highs, our conversation left me believing that maybe Mark Twain was right when he said, Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.

Maybe our close friendship is the result of how close my brother and I are in age.  Maybe it’s because he lived halfway around the world for so many years.  Or maybe it’s simply because we’ve grown into adults who understand the importance of family.  Whatever it is, I’m so lucky to have this person in my life.  But unlike when we were children, he’s finally encouraging me to get in the driver’s seat!

3 Responses to “Sibling Sunday Funday”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 31 things I know I know « Unwedded Bliss - March 30, 2012

    […] 5…Family is everything.  And comes in many different forms. […]

  2. Five lessons from my father « Unwedded Bliss - June 19, 2012

    […] or twice…but ultimately we never hit each other.  Perhaps this is a contributing factor to the relationship we have today.  (And to the phase my brother had in our 20s when he regularly fake kicked my […]

  3. 12 memories from 2012 « Unwedded Bliss - January 18, 2013

    […] Sibling Sunday Funday […]

Leave a Reply

