31 things I know I know

29 Mar

In honor of my recently celebrated 31st birthday, here they are.  Thirty-one things I know I know!

1…Dorothy was right.  There really is no place like home.

2…It’s going to take a while until I can look back at this situation, and its conclusion, and not think “I cannot believe this story is about me.”

3…You’re never too old for drinking games.

4…What one day is considered the worst of your life will someday be a distant memory.  While it won’t define you, it can’t help but shape you.  And maybe it shapes you into the person you were meant to be all along.

5…Family is everything.  And comes in many different forms.

6…I watch too much TV.  Unapologetically.

7…There are so many things in life better than a white dress.  Including this number.

8…I like it dirty.  And you have your mind in the gutter.  I was referring to my martini.

9…I may or may not have commitment issues.  I may or may not be emotionally unavailable.  I may or may not have a problem with trust.  I’ll let you know when I figure it out.

10…“Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect. It means that you you’ve decided to look beyond imperfections.” – T. Bernard

11…Eating warm applesauce out of the jar for dinner, something I caught myself doing last week, (but vowed to change when I turned 31!), is not acceptable.

12…Birthday massages are the best tradition ever.  Ever.

13…No matter how difficult of a situation you find yourself in, you will eventually come to a place in which you find your voice and appreciate what needs to be said.

14…I wouldn’t wish loneliness on my worst enemy.

15…Drinking wine, listening to Adele, and writing about loneliness is not a good way to pass the time when you are indeed, lonely.

16…Trust is earned.  I will not give it away so blindly next time.

17…If you haven’t played table wars at a wedding, you don’t know what you’re missing.

18…The lesson is in recognizing that there is life after the life you once thought was meant to be.

19…There is always something to be grateful for.

20…I like to keep expectations in the kitchen low but when I actually try, I suppose I technically can cook.

21…Everything is better with champagne.  And there is always a reason to celebrate.

22…Football should have a year-round season.

23…Anger is not a bad emotion.  Even when it brings a bipolar-inspired sense of closure.  And even more questions…although I don’t care what the answers are anymore.

24…Brunch is the best thing in the world.  On the planet.  In the universe.

25…There is no such thing as the perfect couple.  Or the perfect relationship.  Despite what some people say, relationships are work.

26…I’m obsessed with Aaron Rodgers. Don’t tell Ryan Fitzpatrick.

27…Never disregard warning signs.

28…Three life-enhancing things to do: embrace life’s little luxuries; feel encouraged by new experiences; and make memories in unexpected ways.

29…Life is better with inside jokes.

30…Overuse of the word awkward is…well, awkward.

31…Things just keep getting better.  And whoever said “The best way to predict your future is to create it” probably had it right.  I’ll let you know.

One Response to “31 things I know I know”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 12 memories from 2012 « Unwedded Bliss - January 18, 2013

    […] Turning 31 […]

Leave a Reply

