Summer Bucket List

20 Jun

Today’s first day of summer brought back our unusually warm spring weather with a vengeance.  Ninety-seven in the city might as well be 197 degrees!  Well, what better way to ring in the summer solstice than with my official 2012 Summer Bucket List!

With just under 14 weeks until the autumn equinox is upon us (I know, I know; don’t say that!), here are 20 things you’ll catch me doing this summer:

  • Walking through clouds on the MET’s Cantor Roof Garden – Tomas Saraceno’s Cloud City.
  • Riding coasters at Six Flags.
  • Pig roastin’ and crawfish boilin’ in Poconos.
  • Watching a classic at Bryant Park’s Summer Film Festival.
  • Enjoying comped cocktails at the Le Caprice and The Pierre.
  • Kayaking in Shelter Island.
  • Taking in the Public Art Fund’s Common Ground or How I Roll outdoor exhibits.
  • Walking the Brooklyn Bridge (for mom!)
  • Movie hopping on a rainy day.
  • Participating in summer BBQ shenanigans in Hopewell Junction.
  • Co-organizing my agency’s family and friends “fun run” for charity.
  • Renting bikes on Governors Island and visiting the Interactive Sculpture Park.
  • Pulling a Saturday and/or Sunday Funday on the waterfront.  So many options, so little time…
  • Checking out Pet Sounds, the interactive mixed-media installation at Madison Square Park.
  • Dipping my big toe in the ocean.  Between naps on the beach.
  • Celebrating “Good Beer Month” – aka July.  Repeatedly.
  • Partying on a roof deck with friends over infused vodkas and fireworks.
  • Taking in a Yankees AND a Mets game.
  • Getting on a boat.  Any way possible.
  • Something spontaneous!

What’s on your list?!  Happy Summer Solstice!

15 Responses to “Summer Bucket List”

  1. Cassondra Luton November 4, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    Hi there, Thank you for this awesome blog post! I will certainly bookmark Summer Bucket List Unwedded Bliss. Cheers.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What July brings 2.0 « Unwedded Bliss - July 4, 2012

    […] event, or any other sort of weekend commitment this month.  Finally.  Bring on the summer bucket list and some much needed beach […]

  2. Rollercoaster, yeah (ooh ooh, ooh ooh) « Unwedded Bliss - July 12, 2012

    […] great way to loosen up, and let go of some of that stress.  So great in fact that I threw it on my summer bucket list, played hooky with the girls on a random Thursday in June, and did it all over […]

  3. Keep on crawling « Unwedded Bliss - July 16, 2012

    […] ahead, say it with me: Participating in summer BBQ shenanigans in Hopewell Junction – check! Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterDiggLinkedInPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  4. Na na nu nu nah nah, Na na nu nu nah nah…. « Unwedded Bliss - July 24, 2012

    […] A few weeks ago, the girls and I hopped on a (free) 10-minute ferry ride from Battery Maritime Building in downtown Manhattan to Governors Island and…you got it: rented bikes on Governors Island and visited the Interactive Sculpture Park (check!) […]

  5. Ha, amongst the other signs I’ll watch for in the future! « Unwedded Bliss - July 27, 2012

    […] into the evening.  While it currently feels as though I am bouncing between posts about my summer bucket list and “Pinned it Tuesday” (hey, I’m committed!), I’m looking forward to […]

  6. Ahoy! « Unwedded Bliss - August 8, 2012

    […] the trifecta of “checks” – boat, beer, and waterfront […]

  7. A spirited step « Unwedded Bliss - August 23, 2012

    […] I rounded out my summer bucket list with “Something spontaneous!,” it wasn’t because I needed one more  must-do to make an even […]

  8. TV, video games, and the world wide what? « Unwedded Bliss - August 28, 2012

    […] Here’s a quick glimpse of my latest (seized) opportunity to unplug (check!): […]

  9. Ocean front property…for the afternoon « Unwedded Bliss - September 5, 2012

    […] with nothing more than a beach towel and sunscreen.  I dipped my toes in the ocean between naps (check!), took a few walks along the water, and people watched / gossiped all afternoon.  What a perfect […]

  10. What September brings 2.0 « Unwedded Bliss - September 5, 2012

    […] trip to the beach checks one more summer must off my list, and I have plans for a few more  excursions this holiday weekend.  With just 22 days until the […]

  11. Holiday weekend handiwork « Unwedded Bliss - September 12, 2012

    […]  My summer was phenomenal but until now that fun had not included dipping my toes in the ocean (check!).  As one of my girlfriends and I walked along the water, gossiped about those around us […]

  12. Five lessons from Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday « Unwedded Bliss - September 19, 2012

    […] the crowds at Bryant Park for the HBO Summer Film Festival (not that I had much of a choice – check!)  While I don’t personally fancy myself a princess (let’s be honest, there’s […]

  13. Harlem globetrotting « Unwedded Bliss - November 3, 2012

    […] for a “trip” downtown to walk the Brooklyn Bridge (“for mom!”…on my summer bucket list).  Yes, I realize that this was over six weeks ago, and a long period of time in a city that runs […]

  14. 12 memories from 2012 « Unwedded Bliss - January 18, 2013

    […] Summer Bucket List (that resulted in this, this, this…) […]

Leave a Reply

