I pinned: oreo cookies and cream cheesecakes

26 Jun

I’m a self-proclaimed “one pot wonder.”  More than one pan on the stove or in the oven and I get embarrassingly overwhelmed.  One item is guaranteed to be cold by the time the second comes out; it’s highly likely the smoke detector will go off; an entire part of the meal is overlooked (“Damn, I forgot the salad!”)  Casseroles, soups and salads, and veggies that can be roasted on the same baking sheet as my main course are generally my best friends.

In that interest, I’m also a “one bowl wonder.”  The simpler the recipe and prep, the better.  I generally like baking because measurements tend to be exact.  I’m not a “pinch of this and pinch of that” kind of a girl.  Tell me exactly how much of what to use.  Help minimize the amount of time I spend in the kitchen. Although I do appreciate the invisible force field that prevents me from taking up residency in the kitchen without a cocktail in hand.

I promised that June would bring Pinterest doing, so when one of the girls mentioned that she wanted Oreo Cookies and Cream Cheesecakes for her birthday, I immediately pinned the recipe and mentally committed to following through with it.  Making these babies last weekend, I was pleasantly shocked by how easy they were.  Six ingredients and only one bowl required!

Oreo Cookies and Cream Cheesecakes

  • 42 Oreo, cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies, 30 left whole and 12 coarsely chopped
  • 2 pounds (about 3 2/3 packages) cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 cup) sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs, room temperature, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream
  1. Preheat oven to 275° F.  Line muffin tins with paper liners.  Place 1 whole Oreo cookie in the bottom of each lined muffin cup.
  2. Beat cream cheese on medium-high speed until smooth, scraping down sides of the bowl as needed.  Gradually add the sugar, and beat until combined.  Beat in the vanilla.
  3. Drizzle in eggs, a little at a time, beating to combine and scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Add in sour cream, beat to combine.  Using a large spatula, fold in the chopped Oreo cookies.
  4. Divide batter evenly among the cookie-filled muffin cups, fill each cup almost to the top.  Bake, rotating muffin tins halfway through, until the filling is set, about 22 to 28 minutes.  Transfer the muffins tins to a wire rack to cool completely. Refrigerate (in the muffin tins) at least 4 hours (ideally overnight). Remove from tins just before serving.
I of course did not think to snap a picture with my phone until after a few candles were missing but you get the point – and everyone seemed to enjoy them.  Happy (one bowl prep) Birthday Sistah!

(Original recipe here)

4 Responses to “I pinned: oreo cookies and cream cheesecakes”

  1. T June 28, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    Favorite part – drizzle in the eggs! I never knew eggs had drizzling capabilities!

    • unweddedblissblog June 28, 2012 at 1:33 am #

      I’m generally not that dainty but I’ll try for more of a “drizzle” (vs the “splat” with which I bake) next time…!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What July brings 2.0 « Unwedded Bliss - July 4, 2012

    […] was supposed to bring “Pinterest Doing” but that only resulted in one measly attempt last month.  I’m such a list, […]

  2. Pinned it Tuesday: oreo cookies and cream cheesecakes (an oldie but goodie!) | Unwedded Bliss - May 8, 2013

    […] Last summer I made oreo cookies and cream cheesecakes for one of the girls’ birthdays (the original “pinned it” post!)  They were pretty popular so for today’s  fifth annual charity bake sale at work, I decided to give them a second go.  I also made my mom’s practically famous peanut butter cup cookies.  (When she visits NYC, friends always greet her with “Did you make cookies?”)  I’ll have to check before I share her recipe but for the time being, enjoy this oldie but goodie (and original!) pinned it recipe. […]

Leave a Reply

