Pinned it Tuesday: spinach lasagna rolls

16 Oct

Lately I’ve really been trying to bring my own lunch to work (for a few reasons but mostly because it physically pains me to fork over $12 for a salad).  Anyway, this recipe seemed like a good idea because it’s easy, fat-free/low-fat ingredients can be substituted, and it can be frozen for future individual meals (have you ever tried to cook for just one person?!)  Enjoy!

Spinach Lasagna Rolls

  • 9 lasagna noodles, cooked (I used whole wheat noodles)
  • 10 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed and completely drained
  • 15 oz fat free ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I used reduced fat)
  • 1 egg
  • salt and fresh pepper
  • 32 oz tomato sauce
  • 9 tbsp (about 3 oz) part skim mozzarella cheese, shredded

Directions: Preheat oven to 350°.  Combine spinach, ricotta, Parmesan, egg, salt and pepper in a medium bowl.  Ladle about 1 cup sauce on the bottom of a 9 x 12 baking dish.  Place a piece of wax paper on the counter and lay out lasagna noodles.  Make sure noodles are dry.  Take 1/3 cup of ricotta mixture and spread evenly over noodle.  Roll carefully and place seam side down onto the baking dish.  Repeat with remaining noodles.  Ladle sauce over the noodles in the baking dish and top each one with 1 tbsp mozzarella cheese.  Put foil over baking dish and bake for 40 minutes, or until cheese melts.

And I’m bringing back Pinned It Tuesday key learnings!

1.  In cooking lasagna noodles for the first time (yes, you heard that correctly), they’re definitely more “delicate” than I expected.  Unfortunately not every noodle survived the boil and drain process.

2.  Set a timer!  I may have baked my lasagna rolls for 52 minutes instead of 40 minutes.  Hey, I was watching TV and drinking wine.  I’m not a miracle worker.

3.  I truly will never learn to follow directions.  The recipe calls for 32 oz of pasta sauce, a lot of which is for when you actually serve the lasagna rolls.  Nope, instead I just dumped all that sauce into the baking pan and threw it in the oven.  I say this way more than I should when I cook, but “oops.”

Oh well, I’ll just keep repeating this mantra to myself:

 

(original recipe here)

Leave a Reply

