What I am grateful for this year 3.0

22 Nov

free-thanksgiving-banner-printable-decorations

In looking at my posts of Thanksgivings past, there has been a clear theme in my turkey day musings.  Two years ago, I was so damn thankful that I hadn’t married the wrong person only weeks earlier.  I was thankful for those who had gotten me through the worst experience of my life, and I was beginning to be thankful that perhaps I was coming into a place that was nothing less than exactly where I was supposed to be.  Last year I was thankful that I wasn’t thankful solely for just getting through my broken engagement.  I was thankful for putting the previous year behind me and embracing new opportunities as novel experiences of my choosing, all of which were invigorating steps forward.

In my third Thanksgiving post, 3.0 for lack of a better title, I am thankful that that for which I am thankful is independent of anything related to what now feels like something that happened a lifetime ago.  I’m thankful that it felt odd to type “engagement” and “married” just now.  Because rarely do I write about it, its influence having long ago expired.  So for year “3.0”, here are three things I am happy for in my life.  Not a life I was forced to create for myself because of what happened, and not a life I created simply because I had no other choice.  No, these three things are simply things I am thankful for in life.

Friendships, both old and new.  I have the greatest friends in the world, and that is something that will never change.  But I found myself discouraged by this article when I read it; that it gets increasingly difficult to make friends once you hit 30, and that these friends are what the article refers to as situational, or “K.O.F.’s (kind of friends).”  Fortunately for me though, through professional networking and then a mutual friend, I’ve been lucky enough in the past year to build two really strong friendships.  While the first came as a result of shared careers in the same industry, apartments within spitting distance of each other, and identical relationship statuses (read: single), the other was grounded in a shared attraction, impossible schedules, and eventually admitting maybe there was a little something more to our friendship.  Regardless of how they started, I’m incredibly grateful that both turned into much more than simple K. O. F.’s.

Having the week off.  No, seriously.  I’m pretty sure my hair is falling out.  And that my dependency on wine is at all-time high.  I haven’t been able to sleep, and the little bit of sleep that I do get is plagued by weird dreams and nightmares.  I’m either prematurely aging or holding enormous amounts of tension in my back, neck, and shoulders.  And I clearly have either ulcers or a parasite because I’m in a constant state of nausea.  Despite a rocky start to my week off (I was at the office all day Saturday),  I haven’t done anything more taxing than enjoy a boozy brunch, watch football, nap, make out with a boy, catch up on Tivo, experiment  in the kitchen, grab drinks with friends, and yes, eventually find my bedroom floor.  I’m sure I’ll be stressed out again by noon on Monday but for now I’ll take exactly what I have coming to me: three more days off.

Figuring it out.  I think.  You can only think about something for so long before you’re forced to accept that you most likely will implode if you don’t at least try. And while that something can simultaneously be exhilarating, inspiring, bold, terrifying, and bizarre, it’s most importantly essential.  But that’s another story for another day.

Leave a Reply

