An “adorable” St. Patrick’s Day effort

17 Mar

Living in midtown Manhattan, particularly close to the MANY bars that stretch along Second Avenue, I generally hide from the masses on St. Patrick’s Day (which was celebrated yesterday in midtown).  Before you criticize me for not celebrating my heritage or being old, let me stop you right there!  Unless you’ve dealt with the drunk populations that take over midtown, witnessed multiple puke sightings, or had some creeper dressed head to toe in green flick his tongue at you while slurring “Kiss me baby, I’m Irish!”, you really can’t judge me!  Indeed, my days of being part of this debauchery have long passed….and if that makes me old, so be it!

Other than hibernating from pukers and creepers yesterday, the extend of my St. Patrick’s Day celebration was waking up early this morning to make Irish Soda Bread.  The Chef eventually crawled out of bed as well to find me in the kitchen, covered in flour, patiently trying to knead the dough (and yes, I had to Google what that meant…)  He starred at me for a second or two before trying to describe the scene, “This is so…so…so…”  (I offered him “unnatural?”) before he finished with “…adorable.”

Adjectives aside, my first attempt at Irish Soda Bread was not the disaster I had mentally prepared myself for.  And while I still think the Chef would have choked down the bread no matter what, he actually seemed to enjoy it.  I mean, can you really complain about warm soda bread with butter and jelly in bed?  Or at least the unnatural/adorable effort it took to make it?!

irish soda bread

Irish Soda Bread

  • 4 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra
  • 4 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, cold, and diced
  • 1 3/4 cups cold buttermilk, shaken
  • 1 extra-large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 teaspoon orange zest
  • 1 cup raisins

Directions: Begin by preheating the oven to 375 degrees F and set an oven rack in the middle of the oven.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone liner.  In the bowl of a standard electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt.  Add the butter, and mix on low speed, just until the butter is mixed into the flour.  In a small bowl or measuring cup, lightly beat together the buttermilk, egg, and orange zest with a fork.  With the mixer on low speed, slowly add the buttermilk mixture to the flour mixture.  In a separate bowl, combine the raisins with 1 tablespoon of flour, and mix them into the dough.  The dough will be very wet and sticky!  Turn the dough out onto a well-floured work suface, and knead it a couple of times, shaping it into a round loaf.  Place the loaf onto the prepared sheet pan, and lightly score an “X” onto the top of the loaf with a knife. Bake the bread for about 55 minutes, or until the loaf sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom.  Allow the bread to cool slightly on a wire rack.  Serve the bread warm with butter or at room temperature.  Enjoy!  (original recipe here)

(Oh, and from Irish Soda Bread in bed we headed across town for a Sumo & Sushi event.  Ha, VERY Irish! )

Leave a Reply

