(Ivy League) party crashers

2 Jun

I had one of those incredibly random nights this weekend; you know, the type of night you can’t predict and won’t soon replicate. Saturday night the Chef and I hopped into a cab upper east side bound. Our destination was Massawa, an Ethiopian restaurant that I used to love when I lived on the UES (yes, we’re apparently on an Ethiopian trip…) Dinner was great, and slightly buzzed from a bottle of honey wine and various Ethiopian beers, I made the impromptu decision that the Chef “just had” to see my first NYC apartment building and graduate school campus (I honestly almost fell off my chair when he told me he had never set foot on Columbia’s campus.) As soon as we walked through the Amsterdam Ave. gates and onto campus, it was clear that some sort of celebration was happening. With every step toward the center of campus, music and festive conversation got louder.

It was alumni weekend!

(Well, technically I think it was undergraduate alumni weekend but were they really going to kick out a grad school alum…?)

Onto campus and into the party we strolled. First stop? Open bar. Okay, first, third, fourth, sixth, and ninth stops. Sipping champagne on the Low Steps and listening to the live band, the Chef and I laughed at where the night had led us. I eventually showed him around campus (“the grand tour!”) and then, tipsy enough, we join the other drunks on the dance floor despite the humidity of the night. At some point in the very early morning hours we finally made our way home in a champagne-induced state.

To be honest though, the last thing I vividly remember is dancing around the quad with strangers to “Jesse’s Girl“. What a night.

columbia

Leave a Reply

